Let the Adventure Begin!

Above my fireplace is a plaque with an old saying (and I do not know the author) “Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.”

The last moment in my life that completely took my breath away was the day I got the acceptance letter from my publisher for Lazarus Cane. It came with the realization that I, Jeremy Kline, was now a Published Author!

Many people write books, few actually get the opportunity to experience the joy that comes with receiving that letter and signing that contract.

That joy is quickly squelched by the publishing world and the realization that not every published writer is going to be Steven King – at least not right away. Being a writer, like any other job, takes hard work, determination and dedication to succeed. Since the pay is not great at first, being a writer ends up being like an unpaid intern – you do all the work and get nothing in return (okay, you do get the satisfaction of hearing how great you are).

When reality sets in, you find that you have taken on another full time job which requires the one thing that most writers are not good at – Self Promotion.

I would rather write an Oprah Book Club novel than have to self-promote (and if you have read my novel you know that my writing would never make her list!)

I am now about to begin a new adventure. Being impatient and wanting to get my work out to my fans (as few as they are, they are a very loyal bunch), I have decided to move my publishing over to Amazon’s service, called CreateSpace.

With this will likely come the stigma of being a “self-published” author. Not too long ago, that sigma was an author’s death knell, but the publishing world has changed, and I like Jimmy Buffett am “200 year too late”, so I am going to move with the world. The reasons for my decision are simple:

  1. I have already achieved my dream of getting published, so I know (from people who don’t know me) that I can write a readable story, and there has been a lot of demand for the next novel in the series.
  2. I can publish on my terms and keep the rights.
  3. I can focus on the writing without worrying about query letters. (better for my fans)
  4. If I make it big then it will be because of my writing.
  5. The pay is better! (well, at least the percentages)

I have been through the publishing process, and it has highs and lows. With my new track, I will be on my own. I will have to take what I learned and apply it forward. Luckily, my publisher still has a vested interest in selling my first novel, and I think the readers will find the second without their help.

I am hoping to have everything submitted to get the book out by November 1st. Here is the cover that I have been working on. Stay tuned for more details.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Let the Adventure Begin!

  1. I like this blog its a master peace ! .

Leave a Reply

